To create a reference to a UK Statutory Instrument, use the name of the Statutory Instrument, the year and the SI serial number.
Format: Name | Year, SI Number
Example: Penalties for Disorderly Behaviour (Amendment of Minimum Age) Order 2004, SI 2004/3166
To refer to a particular element of a Statutory Instrument, you can use art or arts (within an Order), reg or regs (within Regulations) or r or rr within Rules.
Example: Deregulation (Greyhound Racing) Order 1995, SI 1995/3231 art 3.
If all the required information to create a footnote in included when referencing to a Statutory Instrument in the text, a footnote is not required.
Statutory Instruments follow the same format whether the reference is in a footnote or in a bibliography. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statutory Instrument, rather than specific elements.
To create a reference to a Scottish Parliament Statutory Instrument, use the name of the Statutory Instrument, the year and the Scottish SI serial number.
Format: Name | Year, SSI Number.
Example: Breeding of Dogs (Licensing Records) (Scotland) Regulations 1999, SSI 1999/176
To refer to a particular element of a Statutory Instrument, you can use art or arts (within an Order), reg or regs (within Regulations) r or rr within Rules.
Example: Food Additives (Scotland) Regulations 2009, SSI 2009/436 reg 4.
If all the required information to create a footnote in included when referencing to a Statutory Instrument in the text, a footnote is not required.
Statutory Instruments follow the same format whether the reference is in a footnote or in a bibliography. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statutory Instrument, rather than specific elements.
To create a reference to a Northern Ireland Statutory Rules (the equivalent of Statutory Instruments), use the name of the Statutory Rule, the year and the SR serial number.
Format: Name of Statutory Rule | Year, SR serial number.
Example: River Bann Navigation Order (Northern Ireland) 2010, SR 2010/126
To refer to a particular element of a Statutory Instrument, you can use art or arts (within an Order), reg or regs (within Regulations) or r or rr within Rules.
Example: Flavourings in Food Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2010, SR 2010/414 r 4.
If all the required information to create a footnote in included when referencing to a Statutory Instrument in the text, a footnote is not required.
Statutory Instruments follow the same format whether the reference is in a footnote or in a bibliography. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statutory Instrument, rather than specific elements.
To create a reference to a Wales Statutory Instruments, use the name of the Statutory Instrument, the year, the SI serial number and the Welsh SI number in brackets.
Format: Name | Year, SI Number (Welsh SI number)
Example: Tuberculosis (Wales) Order 2011, SI 2011/692 (W 104).
To refer to a particular element of a Statutory Instrument, you can use art or arts (within an Order), reg or regs (within Regulations) or r or rr within Rules.
Example: Deregulation (Greyhound Racing) Order 1995, SI 1995/3231 art 3.
If all the required information to create a footnote in included when referencing to a Statutory Instrument in the text, a footnote is not required.
Statutory Instruments follow the same format whether the reference is in a footnote or in a bibliography. The bibliography entry should refer only to the whole Statutory Instrument, rather than specific elements.