LibGuides: Fashion: Using databases

Using databases

Discover is great for getting started with a search, but if you're doing an advanced search, we recommend using subject databases.

Databases search lots of journals at once and are often focused on a specific subject. You can use databases to combine search topics, add alterative search terms, filter and narrow your results (by date or subject area for example) and save your searches for later.

We've selected a list of key databases in your subject area.

Key databases for fashion

Emerald
Emerald is a key database for topics such as business, management, HR and marketing.
Business Source Premier
Business Source contains a range of academic journals, trade publications and company information. You can also search Harvard Business Review through this database.
ProQuest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a collection of journals on sustainability and the human impact on the environment. It covers topics such as sustainable fashion and the circular economy.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
High quality sources of scientific research including health and medicine. Includes functionality to view the number of times an article has been cited and the journal impact factor.

If you're looking for a database that isn't on this list, check out our Database A-Z page.

Database A-Z
A full list of the databases we subscribe to at the Library.

The Business of Fashion (BOF)
The Business of Fashion is a leading resource for fashion intelligence, case studies and reporting.
First time users: select the person icon and choose 'Create an account'. Register with your GCU e-mail address and choose Glasgow Caledonian University as your organisation. BOF emails you a 6-digit security code every time you log in.
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases presents real-world challenges facing the business of fashion around the world and across sectors. These cases tackle important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
Drapers
Drapers is a key industry title for fashion business intelligence. First time users need to create an account using their GCU e-mail address for access.
Fashion Studies Online
A collection of over 1,200 hours of videos tracing the history of fashion, clothing and costume. It includes runway footage of Milan, Paris, New York and London Fashion Weeks as well as interviews with leading designers and models. It covers 1977-2016.
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
WGSN is a world-leading fashion trends forecaster. It is a great source for images, which you can use for non-commercial, educational purposes. Our subscription covers Fashion and City by City. To download content you need to create an account.
Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily is a trade journal covering US and international fashion and beauty. You can browse issues or search for designers, products or influencers by name.
Vogue
US Vogue from 1892 to the present day in high-definition colour images and text. You can find images by garment type, designer and brand name.

Finding company and industry information can be tricky. We've listed some databases below to get you started - for detailed information and advice, visit our Finding company and industry information page below.

Finding company and industry information
This guide covers a variety of ways to find information about companies, industries and sectors.
Mintel
Mintel focuses on market research in the UK. Search for a sector, company or brand for reports on customer trends and attitudes.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld includes industry research on a variety of sectors both in the UK and internationally. It includes an overview of each sector, the current outlook and information about key companies and issues.
Business Source Premier
Business Source contains a range of academic journals, trade publications and company information. You can also search Harvard Business Review through this database.
Companies House
Freely available data on UK companies. You can search for a company to find its current status, key officers and annual reports.
Passport
Passport is a global market research database. Use it to find statistics, analysis and reports on consumer products, commercial industries, economies and consumers worldwide.

In addition to fashion-specific sources, you may also be interested in media coverage of fashion. Our newspaper guide has information on finding sources such as newspapers, TV and radio.

Newspapers, television and sound archives