Grey Literature

The world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals.

An academic search engine which uses artificial intelligence to allow you to search across scientific publications and resources retrieving high quality and targeted results.

Google Scholar provides a simple broad search across scholarly content from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, abstracts, theses, dissertations, technical reports and more. Some full text content on Google Scholar is openly available but sometimes you may be prompted to log in or pay to access full text material.

This repository holds the research output of members of the GCU community.

Quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories

Easy to use, high quality sources quality sources of scientific research including engineering, computing, built environment and environmental sciences. Feautures functionality to view the number of times an article has been cited and the journal impact factor.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world and is provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

A searchable database of listings of worldwide industry and government-sponsored clinical trials. Sponsors use this service to inform patients and their caregivers about ongoing clinical trial opportunities, which volunteers can then review and inquire about participation.

Allows users to search, register and share information about randomised controlled trials. Access to all the information on this site is free.

National knowledge management platform for health and social care in Scotland. Access to electronic resources such as journals and databases requires Athens authentication.

Overarching entity which collectively represents all publicly-funded research in the NHS. Using the ‘Be part of Research’ site offers functionality to search for research carried out across the United Kingdom.

An open access, peer-reviewed, online journal from BioMed Central that covers the performance and findings of randomized controlled trials.

Provides concise clinical guideline summaries of major primary and shared care guidelines in the UK. Additionally, European guidelines from some of the major independent professional bodies are also summarised and included. Summaries of guidelines from NICE, the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN), independent professional bodies and expert-led working party groups are developed for use in clinical practice

NICE produce evidence-based guidance and advice for health, public health and social care practitioners.

SIGN collaborates with a network of clinicians, other health and social care professionals, patient organisations and individuals to develop evidence-based guidelines.

A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.