RefWorks

How do I add references to RefWorks?

There are multiple ways to get references into your RefWorks library. Adding references is sometimes called 'importing' references.

• Automatically import references from databases
• Download the references as an .ris file and add them to RefWorks
• Use the 'Save to RefWorks' bookmark button
• Upload PDFs
• Manually create references

Automatically sending references from databases

Many databases have a built-in RefWorks option. This allows you to move details of journal articles to RefWorks with a single button.

To do this, select one or more references (usually using a star, folder or tickbox icon), then look for an option marked Save, Cite or Export. From there, select the RefWorks export option. This option will look slightly different from database to database.

The specific example given below is for Discover, but this method is applicable to many of our most used databases:

• Discover
• EBSCOhost platforms - Business Source, CINAHL, MEDLINE etc.
• Google Scholar
• JSTOR
• ProQuest platforms - One Academic, Nursing and Allied Health Source, Social Sciences Premium etc.
• Web of Science

Adding references from Discover

Add a single reference from Discover

1. In the Discover results page, find the item you want to add.
2. Click the three dots on the right-hand side and select RefWorks.
3. Choose whether to add your items to a folder, then press Import.

Add multiple references from Discover

1. In the Discover results page, use the tickbox on the left to select the items you want to add.
2. Once you have ticked the references, scroll up and click the three dots on the right-hand side above the results.
3. Select RefWorks, choose whether to add your items to a folder, then press Import.

Downloading reference files from databases

Use this option for databases that do not have a built-in RefWorks button.

Save the references as an .ris file

In this case, you should look for a Save or Cite button. You are aiming to download the references as a file - if you are given options, look for anything marked .ris or RefMan.

This will download the references as an .ris file. RefWorks can use this file to add your references to your library.

Import your .ris file into RefWorks

1. In RefWorks, click the + icon and choose Import references.
2. Drag and drop the .ris file into RefWorks.
3. In the drop-down list, select RIS Format.
4. Choose Import.
5. Select a folder if needed, then choose Import again.

Using the RefWorks bookmark button

Use this option for online resources such as web pages, websites and reports.

1. In RefWorks, click your name in the right-hand corner and select Tools.
2. Click the button marked Install Save to RefWorks.
3. You should see a Save to RefWorks button. Click and drag this into your bookmarks bar.
4. When you are viewing a document online, click the Save to RefWorks button in your bookmarks bar to save the reference.
5. It's very important that you check the references RefWorks finds. It is very common for RefWorks to find the wrong information when using the bookmark button - you need to edit the references so the information is correct.

Adding PDFs

If you already have articles as PDFs, you can add them to RefWorks. There are two ways to do this:

1. In RefWorks, click the + icon, choose Upload document and choose the PDF.
2. Drag and drop the document directly into RefWorks.

After you have uploaded the PDF, RefWorks will try to determine the required information. This may take a few minutes.

Note: RefWorks often makes mistakes when taking information directly from PDFs. Some information may be missing or in the wrong format. You will need to check and edit each reference.

Manually creating references

Use this option for online resources such as web pages, websites and reports, or any item that can't be transferred using other methods.

1. In RefWorks, click the + icon and select Create new reference.
2. Change the reference type to match the type of item you are looking to add. RefWorks will automatically change the fields to match the item type.
3. You don't need to complete every box - only the necessary fields for your referencing style.

Video tutorial - adding references

The video below explains how to export references through the direct RefWorks button, downloading a citation file and using the RefWorks bookmark button.